top of page
Weaving Music
Gold Bolus Recordings GBR047

Drummer Jessie Cox and pianist Sam Yulsman’s debut album “Weaving Music” documents their original, experimental approach to jazz, classical and electronic music traditions.  A mobile and imaginative exploration of instrumental, vocal and electronic techniques and aesthetics, the record is defined by unexpected turns and juxtapositions, with Cox, Yulsman and their cast of collaborators luxuriating in moments of contradiction, paradox and incommensurability.   At once rhapsodic, and irreverent, bombastic and muted, opaque and transparent, “Weaving Music” moves across a wide gamut unexpected sonic terrains, inviting a similarly mobile and improvised approach to listening. Featuring Dani Dobkin (Surge synthesizer), and Bethany Younge (voice).

30% of sales will be donated to EqualSound to support or fellow musicians during this pandemic.

Sam Yulsman - Keyboard
Jessie Cox - Drumset, Mixing


With Guests:
Bethany Younge - Voice
Dani Dobkin - Synthesizers


Drummer Jessie Cox and pianist Sam Yulsman have been collaborating as a duo since the summer of 2018, and are fast becoming exciting new voices in the New York improvised music scene.  Also composers, Cox and Yulsman’s music traverses a wide range of idioms and approaches to musical creation and is rooted in an approach to musical tradition which views stylistic and aesthetic mobility as rich, established grounds for musical experimentation.  As a duo, they have worked extensively in duo settings and in collaboration with other improvisers and ensembles including Eric Wubbells, String Noise, Roman Filiu, Richard Carrick, Bethany Younge, and Dani Dobkin.  


As soloists they have collaborated with a whose who of exciting improvisers and performers including Tyshawn Sorey, Peter Evans, Bill Frisell, Ingrid Laubrock, Pheeroan akLaff, Joe Morris, Ryan Muncy, Marcela Lucatelli, Stellan Veloce, Anaïs Maviel Weston Olencki, Brandon Lopez, Biliana Voutchkova, Lester St. Louis, Chris Corsano, Carla Bozulich, Nicola Hein, Chris Heenan, Claire Day, Ras Moshe, Lisanne Tremblay, James Ilgenfritz, Julian Shore, Mark Wade, Maher Beauroy, Miyama McQueens-Tokita, Marc Hannaford, Brian Krock, Barbara LaFitte, Lucy Clifford, Tomas Sauter, and Cehryl.  As composers, they have worked with ensembles, soloists and institutions including the LA Phil, ICE, JACK Quartet, Steve Schick, Claire Chase, Talea Ensemble, Mivos Quartet, Séverine Ballon, the New York New Music Ensemble, loadbang, Ensemble Korea, Rebekah Heller, Vasko Dukovski, Either/Or, Cory Smythe, Clara Warnaar, Ryan Muncy, Katinka Kleijn, Promenade Sauvage, Janet Underhill, TILT Brass, Brandon Lopez and Nina Dante,String Noise, and Greg Saunier of Deerhoof.  


They have performed/been performed at the Accra Jazz Festival, the Martinique Jazz Festival, Langnau Jazz Festival, Rhythm and Thought Festival, La Phil’s Noon to Midnight Festival (Walt Disney Hall), New World Symphony’s Inside the Music (New World Center), NUNC3 at Northwestern University, New Music Gathering, Opera Omaha’s One Festival, Bang on a Can Music Series, Roulette Interpretation Series, OpenICE Library Festival at Lincoln Center, Composers Now Festival, Frequency Series at Constellation (Chicago), Mis-En-Place Bushwick Curator Series, String Noise Sounds Series in NYC (Co-Curators), Polyfold, Issue Project Room, ACEC Generación 2018 in Buenos Aires, the 2018 International Computer Music Conference in Daegu, Korea , Ostrava Days, the Ammerman Center for Arts and Technology Biennial Symposium, Qubit’s  “Liminal” series, the Pacific Rim Music Festival, and the Wet Ink Large Ensemble Readings. Their music has been aired on NPR, KUVO, WBGO, Martinique 1, Visasat 1, SRF, TSF Jazz, Fip Radio, and France Ô.


bottom of page